Wedge of Lime and Robin Egg Blue

We’re settling in for a while.  We live Life on the Whim so we are never quite sure When, Where or How we will be living our lives from one week to the next.  But with my sister now here in the area we’ve decided to settle in a bit more, and we’re welcome to make improvements to our 2 hotel suites.

So we’ve taken the Liberty.

When we came to Hotel Perico the interior walls were ecru, with 2 bedrooms in baby blue.  The suites are naturally pretty dark so we wanted some spunk and color.  We had busied ourselves with sanding and repainting some wood furnishings we already had in our space, or salvaged from the excess of the hotel.

We were already incorporating Robin Egg Blue.  And Fire Engine Red.  Wedge of Lime just didn’t seem quite right for me.

Improvements is “in the eye of the beholder” and nine of us behold things quite differently from one another.  Why on earth I let the 15yo pick the paint…Gosh, I don’t really know.  Except that when I complained to Everette that the newly filled-in-doorway-become-wall in her room had left brown cement-mud all over the other wall making it look like splattered mold, he suggested we paint them before moving two of her sisters into the same room.  And to get a better deal on the paint he wanted me to use the same color elsewhere in the suites so he could buy a 5 gallon bucket.

Maret has artistic flare, and definite ideas of what works and what doesn’t.    As much as I admire her fashion, color-sense and creativity,  I now know that we don’t like the same greens.

Green is my FAVorite color, soothing and serene.

We’ve used greens in various tones in several of the houses we’ve built, and I’ve always been happy with them.  But, Wedge of Lime…a bit too yellow for me…over-powering on big spacious walls.Wedge of Lime

I thought it was a mistake after I sent Everette to the paint store to get that humungous bucket but I forewarned him not to judge.  To just get the paint and be quiet about the whole thing.  He’s had enough experience to know that at first paint on the wall can look atrocious but when its got flooring and fixtures and things put on the walls it can make a huge difference.

So he bought it.  “Does Shrek mean anything to you?” he said while he repeatedly wiped imaginary snot from his nose and flung it on the walls.

Support– Thanks Hon.

We started with the girls room…Danaka and I got the two walls done the first night, so we could move her bed in the next day.  I was getting tired of the renovations, the upheaval, the mess of displaced foodstuffs.  Not to mention I was stretched past my comfort zone:

  • I was working on a guest blog post that needed pics of our ‘home’ but I wanted the reno finished first so our place looked more colorful;
  • we were having a ‘1,000 Days of Travel’ party and I wanted to put together a montage of our travels but only had time to get the first video-of-many done;
  • the internet was a constant nemesis, saying it would take up to 111,050 minutes to load up my video to share with the world….do you realize that’s more than 77 days to load ONE 8 minute video???
  • the kids were doing their second Murder Mystery Dinner and I fell into last minute dinner-rescuer;
  • we were having a BBQ with another big traveling family in a few days;
  • and then the following day Everette and Mitchell were flying north for work.

So we needed the push on…or I would be insane by the time the guys returned from BC, having lived in disarray for an unnecessary month.

In the pic below you can see the wall where there used to be a doorway.  It was filled with brick, then mudded over.  The tiled step was hammered out of there, too.  That’s the room we first applied the Wedge of Lime, but in the pic it looks much more yellow than it really is.

Doorway bricked up, step removed, walls mudded then painted with Wedge of Lime.

Doorway bricked up, step removed, walls mudded then painted with Wedge of Lime.  Three girls and a big dog share the ‘upper patio’.

My sweet husband got a start on the big kitchen project Saturday morning along with Danaka, making it happen to please his slave-driving wife…who was once again suffering from sciatic pain.  And he sent her (ME) off for an hour-long body massage with hot stones while he painted love messages on the kitchen wall.

The long kitchen/bedroom area BEFORE

Two ends of the same space.  Our original kitchen that we added a cabinet to on the floor for more counter space.  But no oven/stove, and the fridge was in the other space which was really the teens bedroom (with no door).

Two ends of the same space. Our original kitchen that we added a cabinet to on the floor for more counter space. But no oven/stove, and the fridge was in the other space which was really the teens bedroom (with no door).

The kitchen (no more bedroom) is long and not the greatest functioning, but we are thrilled with the improvement and the addition of a full-size gas oven/stove!!  These pictures give a much better idea of what the Wedge of Lime really looks like.  Vibrant and Fun!

Our new colorful kitchen.

Our new colorful kitchen.

I LOVE the Robin Egg Blue cabinet and shelves.  We have a larger open space for baking now.  There’s a bit of space at the window we hope to add a narrow bar table and a couple of stools for sitting and looking out to the cobblestone driveway through the shrubs & trees outside our window.

The art, shelves and cabinetry have totally calmed down the Shrek-green and now we are all starting to love the fun of the colors.

Good choice on the color, Maret.  You did well.

What rooms next?  Not sure if we’ll do any more of the green.  We’ll have to think on that one.

We did, however, add some red to the main bathroom.  We had a difficult blue to work with, and I had drawn a blank as to what to do with it.  Until I saw a line-up of spray paint can lids in royal blue, that smokey blue (our fixtures) and bright red.  That gave me the idea and so I just painted the cabinet doors, and a towel rack with the red to add that apple-splash.  So the bathroom is red-white-and-(not navy)-blue.

I distressed the red doors and white boxes to make them look older so I didn't have to repaint the entire box.  Cheat, I know!!

I distressed the red doors and white boxes to make them look older so I didn’t have to repaint the entire box. Cheat, I know!!

Now we have to stay long enough to enjoy this rainbow of colors.  And maybe I can sneak in a bit more of that Robin Egg Blue somewhere.

4 thoughts on “Wedge of Lime and Robin Egg Blue

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

