Too Late for New Years?

We’re almost halfway thru the first month of the year….does it make it too late to share about our New Years Celebration?  I’ve tried several times since Jan 1st to upload pics but it just hasn’t come to fruition.  So today looks like the day!!

Days here in the mountains of Mexico are warm in the sunshine but sometimes nippy in the shade, and certainly cool in the night.  The boys (Laars in particular) think its warm enough for a 5-minute dip in the unheated pool.  No matter the season.

Collage Swim

Never party animals, I’ve seldom stayed up for a New Years Celebration since meeting Everette. Not because I wasn’t interested.  But because I was often pregnant or had little ones who weren’t going to let me sleep in after a late night of frolicking.  And over those years I was very susceptible to waking with swollen glands and sore throat from lack of sleep.  It just didn’t seem worth it.

Some years a few large families would share a meal or fondue earlier in the evening and pick up sleeping children sprawled on beds and couches as soon as the New Year well-wishing was over.  Some years Everette was awake with the older children while the youngsters and I were tucked warmly in bed. Usually a short while after the stroke of midnight Everette would wake me to wish me a Happy New Year, so I was aware of its arrival shortly after the event.

Good Enough for me.

I’m really starting to like this not having babies any more, for a lot of different reasons.  New Year’s Eve is one of them.

No more toddlers.  Big enough kids that leave me to sleep somewhat-restlessly in the mornings if need be.  Now I can risk staying up late. After all, the kids are staying up late right alongside of me!  So maybe we’ll all sleep in in the morning.

About 10 minutes before midnight we took our supplies outside.  Stacks of cups, chilled champagne, computer (for the time) and shofar.  We settled at the edge of the property overlooking Chapala and the lake.  We could hear some music down below, random dogs barking.

Then church bells rang afar and fireworks blazed distantly.  Everette bellowed out with the rams horn, remembering his ability to staccato on a brass horn from younger years but unable to supply a similar rendition.  Good try, Hon!

We shared the bubbly in plastic cups with our kiddos, each getting a sampling to Toast to the New Year.  Our friend Mark came out about 10 after, hoping to find somebody outside to celebrate with, so we let him finish off the bottle.

Collage CHeers

Very simplistic and quite quiet compared to years of kids banging on pots and pans while yelling out on the street, and horns honking miserably in Canada.  Up here on the hill outside of town was quiet just like last year in Barra de Navidad.  It quite surprises me, actually, since we’ve had much noisier (& sleepless) nights on Christmas Eve and at Easter time here in Mexico.  We actually get sleep on New Years, its wonderful.  Maybe we’ve been lucky 3 years in a row.

 

 

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

