Treats: A Ferry Trip & Finally an Easy Border Crossing

Our original plans had been to take the Black Ball ferry to Port Angeles, a trip non of us have taken except Everette and Mitchell.  But a last minute trip found the reservations taken and the stand-by too long of a wait.  We arrive before 9am for a 10:30am sailing but would be on standby for the 3pm.  We opted for BC Ferries and caught the 10am from Sidney.

Felt a little reminiscent when we pulled up to the Swartz Bay ferry terminal.  Nearly 2 years ago we left Vancouver Island from this same bay for points south where warmth and sunshine spoiled us.  This trip is just to Portland, OR and back.  Timed to be with our granddaughter for her second birthday.

Anders at the playground waiting for the ferry

Anders at the playground waiting for the ferry

Shady pirates!

Shady pirates!

I visited a Dutch Import store in Coombs before our trip, to treat the kids and Everette to black liquorice (I abhor it) kept especially for the ferry ride. ( I got my own dark chocolate bar)  The white candies were Chalk, black liquorice wrapped around a white peppermint centre with the white chalky cooling outside.  They all loved that one.

I visited a Dutch Import store in Coombs before our trip, to treat the kids and Everette to black liquorice (I abhor it) kept especially for the ferry ride. ( I got my own dark chocolate bar) The white candies were Chalk, black liquorice wrapped around a white peppermint centre with the white chalky cooling outside. They all loved that one.

This is the prettiest crossing from Vancouver Island to the mainland, weaving through the southern Gulf Islands.

This is the prettiest crossing from Vancouver Island to the mainland, weaving through the southern Gulf Islands.

We had a 90 minute wait for the border crossing and am pleased to say that it was the first non-eventful crossing for me (Canada to USA) since 2008, in which they took the van keys, stopped all traffic and closed the bullet-proof wicket windows.  A patrol car pulled up to block the entrance to the highway.

After the keys were returned (but not our 11 passports) we were directed to a “secure area” where we were surrounded by a half-dozen border patrol with guns drawn and instructed to get out of the van with our hands in clear view.

Some Karen with an alias last name but that lucky-for-me shares the same birth date (of which neither of us can change) is wanted for violent crime, and every time I’ve crossed the border since I and all my travel companions have had to make a trip in to the offices to await short interrogation.

But not this time.  We breezed thru.  Maybe that Karen has been apprehended?

We’re off to Portland.  Yippee.

4 thoughts on “Treats: A Ferry Trip & Finally an Easy Border Crossing

  1. Another thing to share among families……. Side walk chalk! Well Karen maybe you could learn to like them, kinda like raisins or nuts like me (yes pun intended)!

    • I like the red stuff that Gaelyn dubbed ‘relish’ years back in our travels. I’ll keep with the dark chocolate though, and try and keep most of it for myself!!

  2. Pingback: Week in Review 24/8/14 | Acrobatic Thoughts

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

