Piercings for the Last of the Girls

Gaelyn was waiting to get her ears pierced, anxious but scared.  She was told it would be like getting a bee sting but without the pain/swelling/itchiness that often follows.

When she decided to get her hair buzzed short like mama’s because of the heat well, I decided it was the perfect time to get her ears pierced.  People had often mistaken her for a boy and now with even shorter hair I thought earrings might help out a bit.  Not that guys don’t wear earrings.  But I thought the piercings wouldn’t hurt the matter.

Nervous, getting the first punch.

Nervous, getting the first punch.

A little bit watery eyes as she waits for the second piercing.

A little bit watery eyes as she waits for the second piercing.  Concern on her face, she already knows how the first one felt.

Done.  Cuddled that bear to give her comfort.  She was done, and proud of herself.

Done. Cuddled that bear to give her comfort. She was done, and proud of herself.

Maybe once she wears bigger, possibly dangling earrings people will stop sending her to the men’s washroom!!

So we are done getting all our six beautiful daughters ears pierced.  The rule is….we pay for the first piercings.  If they want any more, or they grow them in and want them redone in the future, that’s their own bill.

Now we might have some boys who want to get their ears pierced.  Anders already surprised me with a request for ‘someday could I get one of my ears pierced?’ back in May while visiting with Rauchelle and her family.  Honestly, it caught me by surprise.  I’m not against my sons having piercings, its just that I had never thought about it before.

One thought on “Piercings for the Last of the Girls

  1. Pingback: Updates and Week in Review 3/8/14 | Acrobatic Thoughts

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

