We’re Just Peripheral

Time with our grown daughters.  They’ve flown the coop and are busy building their own lives with their parents and siblings on the peripheral.

I knew these days would come.  I anticipated them, and welcomed them with drops of sweet bitterness sadness.  Because this of course is healthy.  I don’t want my kids living with us for ever.

I distinctly remember my brother David and I promising our parents that we would ALWAYS live with them, ALWAYS take care of them….but we didn’t.  And our parents didn’t expect that from us.  Our older three siblings never were expected too, either.

So I LOVE that both Layne and Rauchelle are doing their own thing.  And that I can go visit them for a few hours or a few days.  Not often enough, but I’ll take what I can get.

Layne and I (Karen) at Original Joes.

Layne and I (Karen) at Original Joes.

One thought on “We’re Just Peripheral

  1. Pingback: Week in Review 20/7/14 | Acrobatic Thoughts

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

