Volunteering at the Dog Rescue

The children love animals, particularly dogs, and there is an abundance of dogs in Mexico.  So much so that strays are a constant problem, nationally.  We had our own experience with beach dogs last year on the Baja, and though we haven’t picked up any stray dogs here on mainland Mexico we have ample opportunity for the kids to get a dog-fix.  Here at Perico Hotel there are some resident dogs, and occasional somebody else comes with another dog or two, like our friends from RambleCrunch.com with their Archie (and they also had Sophie a rescue dog whose found a new permanent home in Texas I think).  And now I’m taking them to a dog rescue 3 times a week so they can exercise and love on the currently homeless dogs.DSCF1457 2

I contacted a few dog rescue places I found on the internet to offer some helping hands and volunteering legs to walk the dogs, and Gudrun with the Lakeside Spay & Neuter Ranch & Adoptions (formerly the Lakeside Spay & Neuter Center)  took me up on the offer.  And its been a delight to get to know Gudrun and help her and her crew of volunteers out at the Ranch.

Gudrun with dogs from the Brady Bunch

Gudrun with dogs from the Brady Bunch

The first time we went out there, Gudrun gave us a rundown of the operation, introduced us to the Mexican workers Miguel and Martin, and to the 75 dogs that are currently housed here.  The barking was incessant; not a place to come with a headache.  They were all so excited to have new people and were hopeful that we would choose them to walk them through the forest so they could pee on a new rock and frolic in the dry leaves.

Shakey cuz his rear end constantly shivered.  This was my pick when the boys weren't with us.  When they come I don't take a dog so I can be of service to them as often their first picks are bigger than properly suited for them

Shakey cuz his rear end constantly shivered. This was my pick when the boys weren’t with us. When they come I don’t take a dog so I can be of service to them as often their first picks are bigger than properly suited for them

Maret says, “It’s a heck of a lot of fun!” and she’s always the first one raring to go back, the consistent dog walker who usually picks those with tons of energy and she runs and runs, huffing and puffing with a huge grin on her face because its ecstasy for her!  She’s in her element.

Maret with Dinga, so far her favourite

Maret with Dinga, so far her favourite

Bonito with Maret

Bonito with Maret

Hero, Laars picked but turned out to be a bit too much!

Hero, Laars picked but turned out to be a bit too much!  So we traded with Danaka and she ran him a lot down the back trail because he didn’t really like the other dogs.  Too much tooth action for our liking!

Paco with Gaelyn

Paco with Gaelyn

Jake out and about with Gaelyn

Jake out and about with Gaelyn

part of the Brady Bunch.  He was with Laars and I so he was approaching to give me a dog kiss I absolutely detest.  I am not into this like the kids are, that's for sure.

part of the Brady Bunch. He was with Laars and I so he was approaching to give me a dog kiss I absolutely detest. I am not into this like the kids are, that’s for sure.

So Anders starts asking if I would rather a dog kiss, or a kiss from a stranger.  I have to ponder that.  A stranger who hasn’t just had his/her face in another persons hinder parts, or a dog who most certainly has?  I just might choose that stranger, particularly if he was good looking!  (Sorry, hon, but I’m sure you’d understand!)

Laars running one more suited to his abilities.

Laars running one more suited to his abilities.  Shorter legs are helpful.

Anders with a member of the Brady Bunch.

Anders with a member of the Brady Bunch.

Anders with Cypress

Anders with Cypress

Well suited, Toveli has taken Sandy out a couple of times.  She's also from the Brady Bunch.

Well suited, Toveli has taken Sandy out a couple of times. She’s also from the Brady Bunch.

Sandy was a beautiful dog for Toveli

Sandy was a beautiful dog for Toveli

5 thoughts on “Volunteering at the Dog Rescue

  1. Pingback: (A Late) Week in Review 16/3/14 | Acrobatic Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Doggie Party | Acrobatic Thoughts

  3. Pingback: Full Circle in Mexico: Photo Collage Mega Overload | Acrobatic Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Seriously Epic | Acrobatic Thoughts

  5. Pingback: Seriously Epic | Karen Schindel's Unlimited4Life

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

