Strawberries Delight

We aren’t sick of them yet.  Fresas (strawberries) are grown around the Lake Chapala area.  Many farms around Jocotepec grow strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and/or blackberries for Driscoll’s, and sell the really tasty and ripe ones locally.

The unripe ones are packaged up in plastic clam boxes and shipped north where they may/maynot be fully ‘ripened’ by the time you find them, overpriced, in the grocery stores.

Here, we delight in buying them in the farmers markets and from street-side vendors.

Jorge and Everette strike a deal.  10 kilo for 130 pesos.

Jorge and Everette strike a deal. 10 kilo for 130 pesos.

In two days we bought 30 kilos of fresa (strawberries) from Jorge and his wife Jamil for about $30.  Very little of it made it into our freezer.

In two days we bought 30 kilos of fresa (strawberries) from Jorge and his wife Jamil for about $30. Very little of it made it into our freezer.

4 thoughts on “Strawberries Delight

  1. Are you able to buy strawberries that have not been covered with pesticide? I never buy them here for that reason. I only eat them from someone’s garden and they don’t grow well in Arizona.

    • Lila, you brought up a great question (maybe I should make a post about it) and I apologize for taking so long to reply. I meant to but then simply forgot.

      I know that strawberries are on the Dirty Dozen list, and in Canada I never bought them unless they were organic, because of that. Not just because of our own families health, but also because I’d rather support organic farmers who have safer environments for their workers/families.

      I’m not absolutely sure what is organic/not sprayed and what isn’t down here since supposedly a high percentage of what is grown organically is exported. But I guess I have relaxed my perspective some, believing that eating more fresh and local produce whether organic or conventional, is better than eating other types of food. If you are interested, check out http://www.thekitchn.com/eating-any-fruits-vegetables-at-all-is-more-important-than-eating-organic-says-this-writer-199682

  2. Pingback: Week in Review 23/01/14 | Acrobatic Thoughts

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

