Isla Janitzio

3 Musketeering Sisters

3 Musketeering Sisters

One day Danaka stayed at camp with the youngest 3 siblings and the rest of us took a waterborne bus to car-free Isla Janitzio, an island heavily into tourism about 30 minutes on water slow-travel from Patzcuaro.

Sitting on this bus/boat reminded me of Mama Mia.

Sitting on this bus/boat reminded me of Mama Mia.

Hubby & I

Hubby & I

We climbed to the top of the hill up windy, uneven stairs to check out the 40m high statue of Jose Maria Morelos but weren’t even willing to pay to see it up close.  The view is supposed to be stellar from up there, and even a climb up into Morelos’ arms is recommended just for the fun of it.  But we pass… us cheapos.DSCF1021

Upon approach to the island about 6 men demonstrate traditional fishing practices

Upon approach to the island about 6 men demonstrate traditional fishing practices

DSCF1027We shop instead.

A vendor lady hands me a tiny battered and fried fish to taste.  I see its head, its tail, and… process that it most likely still has all its innards… while I pop it into my mouth.  My family looks on.  Greasy and very fishy-tasting, I make some faces as I swallow.  I pass on purchasing these nibbles that look to be served up with limes and hot sauces.  When other samples are offered, there are no more takers.  We move on.

Fish Fry

Fish Fry

Everywhere there's stairs

Everywhere there’s stairs

Toveli & Karen

Toveli & Karen

On our journey back we were entertained but had to plug our ears discretely.

On our journey back we were entertained but had to plug our ears discretely.

2 thoughts on “Isla Janitzio

  1. Pingback: Cuanajo: Furniture Making | Acrobatic Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Updates and Week in Review 09/02/14 | Acrobatic Thoughts

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

