Taos & the Rio Grande

Murals and adobe-style buildings

Murals and adobe-style buildings

Original Trading Post

Original Trading Post 1909

Our 3 boysOur 3 boys

Built to keep the heat in during the winter and out during the summer the building code for the town of Taos in northern New Mexico is uniform, simple, appealing.  A fairly small town it is big in artistic abilities.  I found it interesting that as the children led me thru the streets is was virtually only galleries they chose to venture into.  Otherwise we just window-shopped admiring the kazillion ways to apply various art mediums to the theme of Horses, and the bold colours of New Mexico.

Window Shopping is cheap as long as you don't enter thru the doors.

Window Shopping is cheap as long as you don’t enter thru the doors.

Some doorways are too beautiful to just walk past.  Don't bring your wallet or plastic.

Some doorways are too beautiful to just walk past. Don’t bring your wallet or plastic.

A series "Helping Hands"

A series “Helping Hands”

Gallery

Gallery

Toveli fascinated by the old Bibles of various faiths

Toveli fascinated by the old Bibles of various faiths

Anders exploring passageways

Anders exploring passageways

DSCN3775

I admit I don't know much about Kit Carson but I ought to start learning, I suppose.

I admit I don’t know much about Kit Carson but I ought to start learning, I suppose.

Our final Gallery before heading back to the van to meet up with Everette was Old World Gallery where Casey engaged us in his storytelling of Will of the Whisps and Irish folklore, making that our favourite stop of all.

Casey was telling us stories and right when he said "Light" I had taken this picture where the room's light glared off the back painting as if light was coming from Casey's hands.

Casey was telling us stories and right when he said “Light” I had taken this picture where the room’s light glared off the back painting as if light was coming from Casey’s hands.

DSCN3756

After leaving Taos we stopped to have a look at the Rio Grande which seems like a misplaced name but nonetheless it looks refreshing on these hot days.

Rio Grande

Rio Grande

Interactive activities at the Rio Grande Visitor Center

Interactive activities at the Rio Grande Visitor Center

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

