Kingman Friends

Looking at the weather forecast, especially temperature-wise we decided to Run For Them There Hills and set out for Kingman.  We met an online friend (& his family) of Danaka’s from a writing forum who treated us kindly to locally made root beers (Shelly says Oprah approves of it, too) and after spending hours together at the Visitor Center and the community park they invited us over for spaghetti supper and to spend the night.  I take my (figurative) hat off to people like Shelly who invite the 9 of us over to their house, especially impromptu.  I think many people are intimidated by our numbers and therefore don’t easily open their homes because its out of their comfort zones.  But the Cooper’s invited us in, and boy did we all have a great time.  The little kids adored Quincy…..and Everette & I appreciated sleeping on Quincy’s queen-sized bed for the night.  What a treat.  Thanks Quincy!!

marker outside the visitor centre

marker outside the visitor centre

blurry pic Laars took of the gang

blurry pic Laars took of the gang

Quincy with Anders & Magnus

Quincy with Anders & Magnus

Stuck in the stairs

Stuck in the stairs

Distances from Kingman

Distances from Kingman

Rootbeer comes wrapped in newspaper

Rootbeer comes wrapped in newspaper

Mr. D's rootbeer

Mr. D’z rootbeer

Train across from the Visitor Center

Train across from the Visitor Center

Shelly admits she's a Star Wars geek

Shelly admits she’s a Star Wars geek

Short on chairs with a crowd of 13

Short on chairs with a crowd of 13

Quincy's sword with beautiful celtic design

Quincy’s sword with beautiful celtic design

4 thoughts on “Kingman Friends

  1. That is sooo wonderful!
    Alex and I were also amazed at the generosity of soo many we met, including you, sharing food and movies, and Lynn and Kwi especially, to give virtual strangers winter shelter. We met 3 couples while at Padre Island, near Corpus Christie, TX , all from the same area of Arkansas, near Bentonviile, home of Walmart, and we have an invitation from all to visit. Amazing!
    I can’t get over how light Maret’s hair has gotten, from so much time in the sun. I presume =)
    I hope we get to meet you again somewhere this year; I wanna give all them younguns’ a great HUG!!!
    p.s.-I’m getting serious about blogging next time we head out so I would really appreciate any tips, hints, recommendations etc..

    • Yes, Maret’s hair is blonde from the sun, as are all the other kids. I think Anders’ has changed the most and he is sooo proud of it. He’s been asking me if its fading yet since we left Mexico, it stresses him maybe to think of being a brunette again 😉 Yes, people are so generous, big hearts (or sour pusses!).
      We’ll be in the area for a few months, I’m sure we’ll connect with you by then.
      Blogging is easy. Blogspot I found the easiest to get started and free.

  2. OMG! Little Issy Et is drop dead gorgeous!!!! Couldn’t get over how pretty she is! And that hair! Cute cut and beautiful colour. Okay, I think it’s the smile that really does it to me though, that little bit of mischief shining through!

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

