Requeson

We complained of too much wind at El Tecolate  and now we complain that there isn’t enough.  It was hot and muggy last night, difficult to fall asleep especially with fresh mosquito bites to scratch.

Morning brought

Everette watching sunrise

Everette watching sunrise

My morning mosquito protection.  I would later remove pants and jacket and be ready in my sundress.

My morning mosquito protection. I would later remove pants and jacket and be ready in my sundress.

We decided to stick around another night even though the younger ones thought they wouldn’t like it here because of the bugs.  But once the sun heated the day up the pests found shelter and the kids found the water, shallow but still fun.  Mitch and Maret paddled surfboards around an island we were connected to by a spit at low tide, with a fishing hook unsuccessfully dragging behind them.  dc in water

 

view from palapa

view from palapa

No matter where we stay Laars collects.  His pockets bulge, his backpack gains weight, he claims he has nothing.  Before leaving Requeson I convinced him to empty his pocket and see if he could pick just 3 things he could take.  He left all the bottle caps, plastic whatevers, papers, rocks.  He’s a great scavenger but mama’s mean and won’t let him take it all with him.

Laars' loot

Laars’ loot: a dinosaur, lightbulb and a paper Maret had written on

 

4 thoughts on “Requeson

    • Yes, I remember, all those grocery receipts etc. Laars collects rocks (like Layne), shells (like you), bottle caps (like Mitchell), plastic, broken things, anything…..like a pack rat. I’m having to make him trade his old stuff for his new stuff so it won’t keep adding up.

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

