Banana Bread (Gluten-Free)

mashing bananas

The other day I was making Buggy Bananas with Toveli when I came across Too Good to be Gluten-Free Banana Bread online.  So Anders was my helper to make this Banana Bread with our own adjustments.  As you can see, he was totally into it, my little helper.

It really was yummy.  You can check out the full recipe at  A Little Dash of Modern

Ingredients:

4 eggs
4 or 5 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (I only had peach/apple so I used that!)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups white or brown rice flour (I used white rice flour)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup canola oil (you can substitute with vegetable oil if you wish)

homemade raw applesauce

We just put some apples in the food processor, added a smidgen of liquid honey and filtered water to make it blend well and that was it.

What I didn’t use in the recipe got gobbled up lickety split.

beating eggs

I always use vanilla powder instead of extract, and I used grapeseed oil.

stirring in dry ingreds

Laars was wanting to help, but nicely refrained himself.  I have come to realize that my cortisol levels are always high, and I have to make some things easier on myself, so I am requesting that only 1 young child helps me in the kitchen at a time or else I easily become overwhelmed.  Turns out that multi-tasking raises cortisol levels, and keeping several littles busy in the kitchen at the same time makes me loopy.

watchful eyes

We only have 1 loaf pan, so we put it in a large casserole dish and ate it like a cake.

I don’t know if chocolate chipits is gluten-free or not, but we threw some of them in anyways.  We’ll see how Anders does through the night tonight, then that will likely tell me.

finished product

The most important critic for my gluten-free cooking/baking (Anders) was thrilled with this bread/cake.  He ate 4 slices and kept telling me over and over and over again how much he liked it.  I’m sure I won’t have any difficulty in getting his aid the next time I want to bake this.  Thanks, Anders!!!

One thought on “Banana Bread (Gluten-Free)

  1. Looks fabulous!! Great work! And thanks for the laugh…I had to laugh at your comments about going loopy!! I am going to give this a go Karen, thanks! Always enjoy your posts:)!!

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

