Bed-wetting

One of our young sons is still wetting during the night.  I don’t have an issue with it as I figure he will eventually grow out of it, and he’s fine to wear pull-ups to bed.  But sometimes we might forget to put them on him if he happens to fall asleep while watching a movie, or when we arrive home from a long drive later in the evening.

I don’t make a big deal out of it, nor does his dad.  And his siblings don’t notice or don’t think anything of it.  But sometimes he makes comments on his own accord about the fact that his littler brother doesn’t wear pull-ups to bed and doesn’t wet himself (except the occasional accident when he’s ill).  He’s even said, “Laars is better than me because he doesn’t pee in his underwear!”

I confirm that they are different.  One is not better than another because of their actions or development.  They are just different.

I do wonder if I should take some non-invasive and non-pharmaceutical actions to see if they might help him have more dry nights.  Because he’s pretty proud of himself when he gets 3 nights in a row dry!!

Anyways, I was wondering if any of you have got any solutions?

Two ideas I’m thinking of trying I found over at Medical Today

NettlesUrtica dioica, can be made into a pleasant tea and consumed throughout the day as a tonic for the kidneys. The tea can be mixed with equal parts of fruit juice as a pleasant drink for the child.

Aromatherapy uses the essential oil of cypress, Cupressus sempervirens to treat chronic bedwetting. Several drops of cypress oil should be put in olive oil for massage. The oil should be rubbed onto the child’s stomach right before bedtime.”

Please share your ideas.  I’d love to hear of them.

5 thoughts on “Bed-wetting

  1. my son was wetting the bed almost every night at 5 1/2 years old until we completely eliminated gluten from his diet. (he had been diaper-free except for nighttime since 21 mo). he continued to wet the bed at least once or twice a week for several months, then after 3 months of no gluten, i packed the diapers away, and he hasn’t wet the bed since (he’s 6 1/2 yo now). FYI he was also having behavior/neurological issues and was grinding his teeth while sleeping. all of these symptoms, including the bed wetting, went away within months of eliminating gluten from his diet. it’s worth a try!

    • Rebecca

      That’s a great point, I hadn’t heard of the possible connection. I do know that when he eats more wheat than usual he gets hyper and grouchy & more likely to become angry. Never thought it could be connected to gluten or at least wheat. But I’ll check into it.

    • Rebecca,
      Glad to say that we’ve been eliminating gluten from our home, and from Get-Go our son has been dry at night, TEN nights in a row!!! He is sooooo proud of himself. Thanks for the tip.

  2. Pingback: The Path of Gluten-Free & Dry Nights « Acrobatic Thoughts

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

