Carrying Our Own Weather

 

“Proactive people can carry their own weather with them.  Whether it rains or shines makes no difference to them.  They are value driven; and if their value is to produce good quality work, it isn’t a function of whether the weather is conducive to it or not.”  Stephen R. Covey,  Daily Reflections for Highly Effective People

 

As soon as I read that daily reading, I thought of the owner of the colourful skirt pictured above.  One of my half-dozen daughters.  Who, when a little brother  pulled off a bobble, fell to a heap of tears.

Easy to see the wasted tears and upset in my daughters life.  Justifiable in my own.  Or Not!!

I am easily swayed by the perceived good or bad that is a part of my life, attaching charged emotions to those events.

The other evening another daughter of ours got some marks back from her English teacher.  100%.  When I shared the marks with said-daughter she seemed unimpressed. She knows what 100% means.  But her anticipated reaction (my anticipation, not anybody elses) didn’t come.  I wondered why.  As I walked the stairs to bed it was as if God spoke into my heart with an impression.  That it is good that she isn’t moved this way nor that way from scores of any sort.  If she doesn’t allow her results to determine her emotions (up AND down) then all the more power to her!  She doesn’t need to be reactive to somebody elses measurements of her actions or accomplishments.

 

 

I'm opinionated, friendly & chatty... I hope you are, too

